Dry and Disconnected

Hey everyone. Yes, it’s been officially a year and 8 months since I have last written. I had a lot of things saved in my draft but just didn’t finish it. God has been prompting me to write again and well here I am 🙂

Around April of this year, a friend had tagged me on a prophetic word in which the key words were “FLOW with the Lord.” After reading the prophetic word, I had the urge to write on my blog, however, I didn’t know where to start. Later the two words that came to mind was dry and disconnected. I then started thinking of the verse from John 7:38:

Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”

The main words that kept popping out to me was “living water.” A few days before that, the song “Let it rain” by Michael W Smith was on my mind. It was quite strange because I haven’t listened to that song for quite a while but I kept singing the same lyrics “Let it rain, let it rain. Open the floodgates of Heaven” over and over again. However I didn’t connect the prophetic word, the verse and the song. It was around this time of my life where I was in a season where I felt so dry and disconnected from God. I was going through some personal issues that applied a lot of pressure in my life that I stopped reading my bible but would at times pray to God. It suddenly got to the point where I felt stuck, that every time I tried to take a step forward in regards to my spiritual walk with God, I just felt like I was being pulled back even more. This wasn’t the first time where I was in a season like this but this time around it seemed like it was a difficult one to push through.

After sometime, by Gods beautiful grace he finally led me to understand what he was trying to tell me and why I kept feeling stuck. By combining the prophetic word, the song and verse, God was telling me that in the moments of our life where it is dry and we are so disconnected that through his living water we are no longer thirsty and that through his living water he gives us life and through connecting with him can we only flow. It was in that moment I remember tearing up and thanking God for reminding me again on something important I was slowly forgetting. Looking at the situation now, the answer to my problem is quite obvious but sometimes when you get caught up with life, you tend to forget and you need to be reminded again. Thank you God 🙂

Being a believer in Christ is definitely not easy and sometimes the pressure of life can be so tough that we become blinded by it and when we take our eyes and focus off God we suddenly become distracted that all of a sudden we find ourselves stuck and somewhat frustrated. But even through all that, God’s amazing grace rescues us from that despair and in some way or another God always has a way of reminding us that he has never left us and will help us through whatever we maybe going through. All we have to do is go to him.

I will say this year has definitely been the toughest one in my spiritual walk with God but I will admit that even through all that, God had different ways of reminding me to come to him and to continue seeking his face. Although I have this bad habit of trying to solve things on my own, I never seem to learn that it will lead me no where but as always God has a way of catching me when I fail miserably.

Despite the battles we face, one thing I know for sure is that God is the same today, yesterday and forever and his love for us is unfailing and unchanging.

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?” – Psalms 8:3-4

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.